Skip to main content


Bois-du-Luc: three centuries of mining

In the 19th century, many Flemish inhabitants commuted daily by train to le Centre (the mining region around La Louvière) to descend into one of the coal mines.

The black-painted locomotive, the "train des Flamands," which transported Flemish workers to the coal mines, adorns the museum courtyard. The Train des Flaminds ran from 1855 to 1963.

The mining village, which was built in the early 19th century, is unique to the site.

The coal mine is shielded from the working-class district like a medieval castle with high walls and iron gates to keep strikers out during social unrest.

Bois-du-Luc has been open to the public since 1983 as the (first) ecomuseum in Belgium and has been on the world heritage list since 2012 as one of the four most important Walloon mining sites.

A vertical two-cylinder steam engine with cast iron columns is near the shaft building. According to the book Industria (A. Linters), the extractor was installed second-hand in the mine during the First World War.


How To Get There?
Gain Access to all of the information!

  • Get access to all practical information to prepare your visit, for example addresses, GPS-coordinates and instructions how to legally visit this venue.
  • Discover this location on a detailed map.
  • Get instructions how to get there, together with extra info for walkers and bikers.
  • Discover more interesting places nearby.
  • Explore hundreds of other hidden landmarks on the interactive heritage map.
  • Download the Hidden Monuments 2024 travel guide with 10 hand-picked destinations off the beaten track across Europe.

Become a member only 49,90 euro / year

Already subscribed? Log In

Discover more

Find sites in or discover more

Latest from the blog