Skip to main content
Cockerill in Spa

Cockerill in Spa

Traces of the Cockerill family in Spa

The Cockerill family's tomb in the Spa cemetery pales into insignificance compared to the monument that adorned the family grave for a century.

William Cockerill, father of John and Charles James Cockerill, had a mausoleum erected in 1814 to bury his grandchildren and his early-deceased son Alexander. It became a large temple whose pediment was supported by four columns. However, the monument disappeared in 1902 to allow the extension of rue Léopold in Spa.

The only thing that reminds us of the monument is the rue Cockerill, a one-way street where the mausoleum once stood.

Spa town hall

Why did the grave monument appear in Spa and not in Liège or Verviers, where the family once lived? After his retirement, William Cockerill moved with his wife to Spa, where they found shelter in an agreeable home.

After their death, John Cockerill equipped their former residence with a steam engine for carding in the 1830s, but today, the building is home to Spa's municipal services.

How To Get There?
Gain Access to all of the information!

  • Get access to all practical information to prepare your visit, for example addresses, GPS-coordinates and instructions how to legally visit this venue.
  • Discover this location on a detailed map.
  • Get instructions how to get there, together with extra info for walkers and bikers.
  • Discover more interesting places nearby.
  • Explore hundreds of other hidden landmarks on the interactive heritage map.
  • Download the Hidden Monuments 2024 travel guide with 10 hand-picked destinations off the beaten track across Europe.

Become a member only 49,90 euro / year

Already subscribed? Log In

Discover more

Find sites in or discover more

Latest from the blog