Skip to main content


The longest active mine in Pas-de-Calais

Oignies is the last place in the French mining basin of the Pas-de-Calais region where coal was exploited. The mine did not close until December 1990.

Oignies is also where engineer Georges Mulot discovered the first lump of coal in the region in 1842. The coal mine, part of the "Compagnie des mines de Dourges," has been active since 1930.

The mine was patched up a few years ago and added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2012. A concert hall has been built on the site.

How To Get There?
Gain Access to all of the information!

  • Get access to all practical information to prepare your visit, for example addresses, GPS-coordinates and instructions how to legally visit this venue.
  • Discover this location on a detailed map.
  • Get instructions how to get there, together with extra info for walkers and bikers.
  • Discover more interesting places nearby.
  • Explore hundreds of other hidden landmarks on the interactive heritage map.
  • Download the Hidden Monuments 2024 travel guide with 10 hand-picked destinations off the beaten track across Europe.

Become a member only 49,90 euro / year

Already subscribed? Log In

Discover more

Find sites in or discover more

Latest from the blog