Skip to main content


Blue headframe between slag heaps

The blue-painted headframe is all that remains of the French Sabatier coal mine, closed in 1980.

Together with the nearby mines of Ledoux and Arenberg, Sabatier belonged to the Groupe de Valenciennes, a merger of several coal mines in and around the French city of Valenciennes.

The remains of the mine, which was dug out of the ground in 1910, the steel shaft and the slag heap, and about a hundred other remains of the French mining history, are on the World Heritage list.

How To Get There?
Gain Access to all of the information!

  • Get access to all practical information to prepare your visit, for example addresses, GPS-coordinates and instructions how to legally visit this venue.
  • Discover this location on a detailed map.
  • Get instructions how to get there, together with extra info for walkers and bikers.
  • Discover more interesting places nearby.
  • Explore hundreds of other hidden landmarks on the interactive heritage map.
  • Download the Hidden Monuments 2024 travel guide with 10 hand-picked destinations off the beaten track across Europe.

Become a member only 49,90 euro / year

Already subscribed? Log In

Discover more

Find sites in or discover more

Latest from the blog